What California Car Buyers Need to Know About Lemon Laws

Several customers in the state of California express dissatisfaction with the performance of relatively new vehicles. When the car dealer does not have an immediate solution, many customers ask about California’s “Lemon Law.” They want to know how and when they have lemon cars and how the law can help them.

What Is a Lemon Car?

According to the state legislature, the Tanner Consumer Protection Act is a part of the California Lemon Law. Under this law, a vehicle is presumed to be a lemon if, within the first 18 months from delivery to the buyer or within 18,000 miles of use, the vehicle has been out of service for more than 30 days. The following is information about California’s lemon laws that anyone wishing to buy a car in the state should know.

The Disclosure of Credit Scores

When you approach a dealer about financing for purchasing a vehicle, they will require both your credit score and a written explanation. Be sure to have both of these handy when shopping for your vehicle to ensure a smooth and easy process. If you do not know your credit score, you can download handy apps that allow you to check it for free.

The Seller’s Disclosure

Automobile dealerships in California must by law spell out the base price of a vehicle before offering any options or add-ons to the purchase. They must detail the cost of any add-ons, such as service agreements, fabric protection, anti-theft gadgets, or other warranty claims.

Certified Pre-Owned Automobiles

Previously, any used car dealer who had a vehicle examined by a mechanic could assert that the vehicle was “certified.” Cars sold in California and marketed as “certified” must now comply with a new set of regulations under the state’s law. You may have grounds for a legal claim if you purchase a vehicle that bears the “certified” label but does not satisfy the new requirements.

The Right to Cancel the Purchase of a Used Vehicle

Customers who buy a used car and do not use it for more than 250 miles have a right to return it two days from the date of purchase. For used car purchasers, this means more time to get a thorough inspection done, including driving the vehicle and getting an expert opinion on its condition. The right to cancel benefits customers pressured into purchasing a vehicle on the spot, even if they consented to purchase a car “as is.”

Contact a knowledgeable California Lemon Law and auto fraud lawyer to help determine whether you are entitled to compensation for a defective or fraudulently sold vehicle. If you have purchased a lemon car and need assistance with canceling the purchase, give us a call! We at Ginsburg Law Group would be more than happy to help.